SCA will be a recognized resource for healthcare providers engaged in the care of patients undergoing cardiovascular and thoracic procedures.

The mission of the working group is to become a leader in addressing the opioid epidemic both nationally and internationally and to set the stage for collaboration with other societies to combat the crisis.

The purpose of the working group is:

  1. To review current literature on the mechanisms of pain associated with cardiac surgery and the role of multimodal analgesia for cardiac surgery in both opioid-tolerant and opioid-naive patients with the goal of reducing overall opioid use.
  2. To develop better practices/adaptable clinical guidelines in the perioperative management of opioid-tolerant and opioid-naive patients (from published literature, available general guidelines, and expert opinions). The goal is to provide an easy-to-use guide and, if possible, a process to evaluate its impact on the opioid crisis.
  3. To develop a plan to disseminate the practices/guidelines via educational sessions on the SCA website and/or at the annual SCA meeting.
  4. To devise an approach to provide a platform for the members to provide feedback and suggestions, which will help to refine/improve the guidelines over a biannual basis.
  5. To formulate a proposal to collaborate with the STS to provide optimal patient care and pain control using multimodal analgesics and regional techniques with the goal of reducing overall opioid use for cardiac surgery.

The working group reports to the Quality, Safety and Value (QSV) Committee.

The working group meets at least once per year.

The working group is composed of the Chair, Parent Committee Chair and Vice Chair, Board liaison, and members-at-large.

Members may serve a maximum of two consecutive terms unless presidential approval is granted for a third.

2023 – 2024 ROSTER

Benu Makkad, MD – Chair
Amanda Rhee, MD – Parent Committee Chair
Miklos Kertai, MD – Parent Committee Vice Chair
Jessica Brodt, MD – SCA Board Liaison

  • Timothy Heinke, MD
  • Diana Khatib, MD
  • Marie-Louise Meng, MD
  • Raiyah Sheriffdeen, MD