

Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion (DEI) Committee

Committee Charge

The <u>mission</u> of the SCA DEI committee is to cultivate and advance diversity, equity, and inclusion in perioperative cardiovascular medicine by promoting increased understanding of unique experiences and perspectives of clinicians, patients, and communities.

The <u>goals</u> of the SCA DEI committee are to characterize the current composition of the SCA membership, the leadership structure, and the training programs, and propose step wise commitment to advance diversity within these groups.

Foster evidence-based research on diversity, equity, and inclusion in perioperative cardiovascular medicine, with a specific focus on healthcare equity research.

Identify and strengthen partnerships with "pipeline" programs and communities, aiming to increase diversity of the cardiovascular anesthesia workforce.

Create and fortify mentorship programs that promote diversity among leaders in cardiovascular anesthesia across all groups that shape the future of perioperative cardiovascular medicine.

Nurture and enhance our relationship with the community by actively advocating diversity, inclusion, and understanding through various media platforms.

2024-25 Benchmarks

(Action items for upcoming year)

- 1. Start the "Health Equity Rounds" (HER) Podcast
- 2. Produce six newsletter articles to be published on the SCA's newsletter
- 3. Propose at least one Plenary Session Panel for 2026 SCA Annual Meeting
- 4. Prepare Enduring material on Implicit Bias Training to be housed on SCA's Website
- 5. Prepare a two year progress report on Junior Scholar's Program
- Evaluate and consider Committee's name change that reflects the broader work of the committee

2024-25 Committee Members

Bantayehu Sileshi, MD - Chair Mary E. Arthur, MD – Vice Chair Daryl Oakes, MD – Board Liaison

Jafer Ali, MD Promise Ariyo, MD Victor Chauvet-Almazan, MD Seema Deshpande, MD Jayakar Guruswamy, MD Anna Jankowska, MD Adam J. Milam, MD Samhati Mondal, MD Ashley Oliver, MD Pramod V. Panikkath, MD Joshua J. Sebranek, MD Stanton K. Shernan, MD Aldis P. Siltumens, MD Michele L. Sumler, MD Trevor S. Sutton, MD Nutan Winston, MD Luai Zakaria, MD Elizabeth Zhou, MD