

Research Committee

Committee Charge

The <u>mission</u> of the SCA Research Committee is to encourage and support research that focuses on cardiovascular and thoracic anesthesia.

The <u>goals</u> of the SCA Research Committee are to 1) assess the scientific validity/merit of research grants submitted for funding, 2) review and approve survey requests for distribution to Society membership, and 3) in partnership with the abstract subcommittee, build processes that augment the scientific merit of abstracts presented at the annual meeting.

2024-25 Benchmarks

(Action items for upcoming year)

- 1. Revise application/review processes for 2025 Grant Cycle (Aug-Sept, annual)
- 2. Revise SCA Membership Survey Process/introduce After Survey Report
- 3. Facilitate 2021 MICoR Grant results presentation/dissemination to SCA membership (submitted as part of SPC session proposal for 2025 annual meeting)
- 4. Implement late fall/early winter LOI Process for Starter/DEI Grants (to provide mentorship and additional SCA connection to applicants)
- 5. 2026 SCA Annual Meeting Session Proposal preparation (February, annual)
- 6. 2025 Grant Reviews (Feb-April, annual)

2024-25 Committee Meeting

Anne Cherry, MD - Chair Louise Sun, MD – Vice Chair J. Danny Muehlschlegel, MD – Board Liaison

Andaleeb Ahmed, MD
Sabry Ayad, MD
Amit Bardia, MD
Jessica Brodt, MD
Ethan Brovman, MD
Matthew Fischer, MD
A. Rebecca Hamilton, MD
Jiapeng Huang, MD
Marta Kelava, MD

Heather L. Lander, MD
Laeben Lester, MD
Hong Liang, DO
Michael Mathis, MD
Detlef Obal, MD
Robert Schonberger, MD
Roman Sniecinski, MD
Jessica Spence, MD
Joseph Walpole, MD
Brittney Williams, MD
Erica Wittwer, MD
Jakob Wollborn, MD