

Clinical Practice Improvement (CPI) Committee

Committee Charge

The <u>mission</u> of the SCA CPI Committee is to facilitate the dissemination of concise educational resources geared towards appropriate implementation of best practices and clinical practice guidelines.

The <u>goals</u> of the SCA CPI Committee are to impact the field of cardiothoracic and vascular anesthesiology by facilitating education of clinicians regarding appropriate interpretation and consistent application of best practices and guidelines.

Evaluate the patient outcome effect resulting from the increased implementation of these best practices and guidelines.

Develop clinical practice improvement statements as well as on-line educational material.

Collaborates with other committees within the SCA and with national and international organizations and considers for endorsement guidelines developed by external organizations.

2024-25 Benchmarks

(Action items for upcoming year)

- 1. Create snap-talks (10 minutes maximum) which discuss various publications from the subcommittees of the CPI. Timeline: 6 months 2-3 snap talks
- Create a YouTube channel for the CPI or SCA (requires BOD approval) in which important and relevant clinical topics will be addressed by experts from the CPI committee and its subcommittees.
- In collaboration with the ACA Fellowship Council and the Mechanical Support sub-committee, the CPI committee plans to develop a Consensus Statement addressing Extracorporeal Membrane Oxygenation Learning Objectives and Basic Competencies for Adult Cardiothoracic Anesthesiology Fellows. Timeline: 1.5-2 years

2025-26 Committee Members

Wanda M. Popescu, MD - Chair Michael Grant, MD – Vice Chair Jacob Raphael, MD – Board Liaison

Natalie J Bodmer, MD Joshua B. Cohen, MD – ERATS Chair Thomas B. Gentilcore, MD Alexander Gregory, MD – ERACS Chair Timothy Heinke, MD Nadia Hensley, MD – Blood Management Chair Megan Henley Hicks, MD Christina Jelly, MD – Mechanical Circulatory Support Chair Yafen Liang, MD – AKI Chair Frederick Lombard, MD – Neuroprotection Chair Archer K. Martin, MD – Transplantation Chair Dan McGrail, MD Marie-Louise Meng, MD Jennie Yee Ngai, MD – Atrial Fibrillation Chair Bradford B Smith, MD, FASA, FASE Matthew L Stiles, MD Kathirvel Subramaniam, MD, MPH, FASE