

Research Committee

Committee Charge

The <u>mission</u> of the SCA Research Committee is to encourage and support research that focuses on cardiovascular and thoracic anesthesia.

The goals of the SCA Research Committee are to 1) assess the scientific validity/merit of research grants submitted for funding, 2) review and approve survey requests for distribution to Society membership, and 3) in partnership with the abstract subcommittee, build processes that augment the scientific merit of abstracts presented at the annual meeting.

2025-26 Benchmarks

(Action items for upcoming year)

- 1. Initiate Online Education Subcommittee Webinar task force from the Research Committee
- Revise application/review processes for 2026 Grant Cycle (Aug-Sept, annual)
- 3. Revise SCA Membership Survey Process/introduce After Survey Report
- 4. Solicit feedback and revise late fall/early winter LOI Process for Starter/DEI Grants (to provide mentorship and additional SCA connection to applicants)
- 2027 SCA Annual Meeting Session Proposal preparation (February, annual)
- 6. 2026 Grant Reviews (Feb-April, annual)
- 7. 2026 BOM/ECI Abstract Reviews (Feb-Mar, annual)

2025-26 Committee Meeting

Anne Cherry, MD - Chair Louise Sun, MD – Vice Chair J. Danny Muehlschlegel, MD – Board Liaison

Andaleeb Ahmed, MD MPH
Sabry Ayad, MD
Amit Bardia, MD
Jessica Brodt, MBBS, FASA
Vikram Fielding-Singh
Matthew Fischer, MD
A. Rebecca Louise Hamilton, MD
Marta Kelava, MD
Heather L. Lander, MD
Laeben Lester, MD
Michael Li, MBBS

Hong Liang, DO

Michael Mazzeffi, MD, MPH

Yoshihisa Morita, MD
Detlef Obal, MD
Douglas Pfeil, MD
Lisa Rong, MD
Louis Saddic, MD, PhD
Erik Strauss, MD
Joseph Walpole, MD
Brittney Williams, MD
Erica Wittwer, MD
Jakob Wollborn, MD
Luai Zakaria, MD