Women in Cardiothoracic Anesthesiology

WICTA Awards


WICTA Excellence in Mentoring Award

  • Jochen “Danny” Muehlschlegel, M.D. Associate Professor of Anesthesiology, Harvard Medical School, Brigham and Women’s Hospital.

WICTA She Leads Award

  • Daryl Oakes, Clinical Professor of Anesthesiology, Perioperative and Pain Medicine, Stanford University School of Medicine

WICTA Distinguished Service Award

  1. Lavinia Kolarczyk, MD, Professor of Anesthesiology, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, NC
  2. Kelly Ural, MD, Residency Program Director, Oschner Medical Center, New Orleans, LA
  3. Seema Deshpande, MBBS, Associate Professor of Anesthesiology, University of Maryland, Baltimore, MD

WICTA Outstanding Service Award

  • Abimbola Faloye, Associate Professor of Anesthesiology, Emory University, Atlanta


WICTA Professional Development Awards
WICTA-Karen Souter Coaching Scholarship
  1. Kelly Ural, MD Residency Program Director, Section of Adult Cardiothoracic Anesthesia Ochsner Health, New Orleans, LA
  2. Sophia Poorsatter, MD Assistant Clinical Professor of Cardiothoracic Anesthesiology, UCLA, Veterans Administration Medical Center, Greater Los Angeles
  3. Ragini Gupta, MD, Assistant Professor of Clinical Anesthesiology, Temple University Health System


WICTA Professional Development Awards

Karen Souter Coaching Scholarships
  1. Erica D. Wittwer, MD, PhD, Consultant in Anesthesiology and Perioperative Medicine, Mayo Clinic University Hospital
  2. Charlene Blake, MD, PhD, Associate Professor, University of California San Francisco
  3. Gina Linganna, MD, Assistant Professor and ACTA Fellowship Program Director: Thomas Jefferson University Hospital
  4. Samhati Mondal, MBBS, MD Assistant Professor, University of Maryland School of Medicine


WICTA Professional Development Awards

Karen Souter Coaching Scholarships
  • Diba Daneshrad, MD, MPH; Providence Cedars-Sinai Tarzana, CA
  • Richa Dhawan, MD, University of Chicago
  • Qi Cui Ott, MD, Brigham and Women’s Hospital
  • Seema Deshpande, MBBS, University of Maryland
WICTA-Brave Enough Master Class Award, hosted by Sasha Shillcutt
  • Allison Jill Bechtel, MD