Society of Cardiovascular Anesthesiologists

Nominating Committee

Nominating Committee Description & Roster

To be the globally recognized leader in cardiovascular and thoracic anesthesiology and perioperative care.

The Nominating Committee assembles a list of the willing and most qualified candidates for positions in the Society leadership. The Nominating Committee also vets and recommends candidates for the Distinguished Service and Lifetime Achievement Awards when appropriate.

SCA members rely on this committee to provide candidates that have expressed interest in the position, have agreed to serve, and are qualified for the office for which they have been nominated.

The purpose of the Nominating committee is to identify and provide quality leadership for SCA. This is done through the regular and systematic evaluation of the board’s strengths and weaknesses, the identification of potential Board/Committee Members, and the ongoing training and education of board members. Specific duties include: To review the applications of SCA members who are interested in serving as a Society leader; To nominate at least one individual for all elected positions in the Society; To provide a slate of candidates on or before December 15 preceding an election year.

The committee reports to the SCA Board of Directors.

The committee meets annually via telephone conference before the October SCA Board Meeting.

The committee is composed of the President, the President-Elect, the Immediate Past President, and two elected members-at-large.

Committee members serve a two-year term for the duration of their elected position.

2023 – 2024 ROSTER
Andrew Shaw, MB – Chair/Board Liaison, Immediate Past President
Kathryn E. Glas, MD – President
Amanda A. Fox, MD – President-Elect

  • Theodore J. Cios, MD
  • Peter Neuburger, MD