Society of Cardiovascular Anesthesiologists

Our History

View by Era

1976–1981: Origins


Outreach to Association of Cardiac Anesthesiologists (ACA)


Bob MarinoGeorge Burgess

SCA Incorporated in Louisiana

President: Robert Marino MD, Vice-President: George Burgess MD, Secretary-Treasurer: Martin Peuler MD.

Read More


Spring 1979: Annual Meeting of Southern Society of Anesthesiologists

The Ochsner group invite cardiac anesthesiology groups at the University of Alabama and Emory University to collaborate on a national education meeting in the Fall and to join the Society of Cardiovascular Anesthesiologists (SCA).

November 16-17, 1979: First SCA Annual Meeting, New Orleans LA

Read More

First SCA Newsletter


Jim Arens

Second Annual Meeting, Kiawah Island, SC

First Keynote Speaker: Jim Arens MD

Scientific Program Committee Formed

First Chair: Paul Barash MD


First Collaboration with Other Professional Organizations

Glenn Gravlee MD appointed SCA representative to Board of Governors of American Board of Cardiovascular Perfusion, joining pre-existing representatives from Society of Thoracic Surgeons and American Association for Thoracic Surgery.

Committee on Education and Research Established

Chairperson: Jerry Reves MD

1982–1987: Rapid Growth


Committee on Research Formed

Chairperson: John Tinker MD

John Hinckley

Management Contract with Ruggles Service Corp

John Hinckley, CEO

Read More

First American Society of Anesthesiologists (ASA) Breakfast Panel


First Research Grant

Resident Awards RA Alpert MD and PN Beaupre MD

SCA Publication Committee Formed

Chairperson: Jerry Reves MD


Canadian Board Member Position is Established

First Representative: Earl Wynands MD

Alan Schwartz

First Workshop at Annual Meeting

Workshop Organizer: Alan Schwartz MD

Read More


First Starter Research Award

Recipient: Phillipe Housman MD


First International Congress of Cardiothoracic and Vascular Anesthesia (ICCVA) in Munich, West Germany


Publication of First SCA Monograph: “Acute Revascularization of the Infarcted Heart”

Annual Series 1987–2010; First Editor: Jerry Reves MD

Read More

1988–1998: Journal Affiliation and Echocardiography


Decision to Pursue a Journal Affiliation


Initiate Collaboration with Financial Advisor to Manage SCA Investments


Journal Affiliation with Anesthesia & Analgesia

Section on Cardiac Anesthesiology established, Section editor Jerry Reves MD

First Young Investigator Awards

Timothy Conelly, MD and Arthur Wallace, MD

Read More


Begin Development of a Perioperative TEE Exam


First Annual Update on Cardiopulmonary Bypass

First interdisciplinary SCA-sanctioned educational meeting Co-chairs: Frederick Hensley MD and Eugene Hessel MD


First Annual Comprehensive Review and Update on Perioperative Echocardiography

Co-chairs Robert Savage MD and Sol Aronson MD

Dan Thys

Formation of National Board of Echocardiography (NBE) by SCA and American Society of Echocardiography

Dan Thys MD, Founding Director, first SCA member to serve as NBE President

Read More

First Perioperative Transesophageal Echocardiography (TEE) Examination

1999–2009: Accreditation and Research Funding Initiatives


Working Group for Subspecialty Certification Formed

Implementation of SCA Website


SCA Newsletter converts to on-line format


First Distinguished Service Award

Recipient: Earl Wynands MD


Mid-Career Research Grants Implemented

Recipients: Yaacov Gozal MD and John Hayes MD

SCA Endorses American Heart Association Guidelines on Physician Competency in TEE

Collaboration with ASA on Annual Meeting Cardiac Track Begins


Anesthesia Residency Review Committee Endorses Accreditation of Fellowship Programs in Adult Cardiothoracic Anesthesiology

Flawless Operative Cardiovascular Unified Systems (FOCUS) Patient Safety Project Initiated

Read More


First Joint Collaboration on Practice Guidelines – Management of Patients with Valvular Heart Disease with American College of Cardiology and American Heart Association

SCA Representative: Jack Shanewise MD

Read More


Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education Approves Adult Cardiothoracic Anesthesiology Fellowships


Christina Mora Mangano MD elected first woman President of SCA

SCA Foundation Established Under the Leadership of Joyce Wahr, MD

Mission: Generate and manage funding for SCA research grants.


SCA Newsletter Goes Online

First Fellow Session at Annual Meeting

First ACGME-Accredited Fellowship Programs


Collaboration with Heartweb by ASA and SCA Starts Development of Basic Perioperative TEE Program

2010–2020: Diversification and Certification


Initiation of Basic Perioperative TEE Certification


On-Line Fellowship Lecture Series Implemented


Adult Cardiothoracic Anesthesiology Fellowship Match Program Initiated

First SCA proposal for subspecialty certification in Adult Cardiothoracic Anesthesiology rejected by American Board of Anesthesiology


SCA Participation in STS Database Initiated

First Full-Day Thoracic Anesthesia Symposium at Annual Meeting

Miami, FL

Read More

SCA and ASA Launch Basic Perioperative TEE Program


First Perioperative TEE Recertification

First 35 Years of SCA History Published in A&A

Author: Jerry Reves MD

Read More

European Association of Cardiothoracic Anaesthesiology (EACTA) Board Position Established


Journal Circulation Annual Supplement on Cardiac Surgery Appoints Jerrold Levy MD as Co-editor


Darryl Oakes

First Special Interest Group Created: Women in Cardiothoracic Anesthesiology (WICTA)

Read More


American Board of Anesthesiology approves Subspecialty Certification in Adult Cardiac Anesthesiology

SCA President Chris Troianos MD

Establishment of Two Early Career Board of Directors positions

Going Forward: 2020 and Beyond

  • SCA DEI Jr. Resident Scholarship Program
  • Combined SCA-AATS Conference (2024)
  • Medical Students in Cardiothoracic Anesthesia
  • Additional Subspecialty Interest Groups

Collaborations: 1979 – 2022

  • American Board of Cardiovascular Perfusion (ABCP)
  • Society of Thoracic Surgeons (STS)
  • American Association for Thoracic Surgery (AATS)
  • American Heart Association (AHA)
  • European Association of Cardiothoracic Anaesthesiology
  • International Congress of Cardiothoracic & Vascular Anesthesia (ICCVA)

Cumulative SCA Grants: 2008–2022

Cumulative Grants Chart