Society of Cardiovascular Anesthesiologists

SCA Leadership

With the objective of enhancing and improving the quality of thoracic and cardiovascular anesthesiology, the Society is organized exclusively for educational, scientific and charitable purposes. Comprised of physicians and cardiovascular anesthesiologists and other health care professionals, SCA initiates, collaborates and secures funding for cutting edge multi-disciplinary research initiatives for perioperative patients with cardiovascular and thoracic disease.

Executive Committee

Made up of the President, President-Elect, Secretary/Treasurer, and Immediate Past President, the Executive Committee works throughout the year to exercise the rights and powers of the Board of Directors between meetings. View Executive Committee Members

Board of Directors

The Board is responsible for the overall planning and promotion of the educational, charitable, scientific, social, and other functions of the society and comprises:
  • 4 Executive Committee Members
  • 2 Founding Officers and 1 Founding Officer Successor
  • 1 Appointed Member
  • 6 Elected Members
  • Liaisons from the SCA Foundation and the European Association of Cardiothoracic Anaesthesiology
  • Scientific Program Committee Chair and Vice-Chair
View Board Members

Committees and Task Forces

Standing committees of the Society are outlined in the Bylaws and include the Executive, Nominating, Finance, Scientific Program, Ethics, and Continuing Medical Education Committees. Other Committees, Sub-Committees, Working Groups and Task Forces can be created and eliminated by simple majority vote of the Board of Directors. SCA currently has 29 groups which work together to support the vision and mission of the Society. View Committees and Task Forces