Society of Cardiovascular Anesthesiologists

Transplantation Committee

Transplantation Committee Description & Roster

The purpose of the cardiothoracic transplant workgroup is to advance the educational, clinical, and research facets of cardiothoracic transplantation anesthesia for the benefit of SCA membership.

Beyond educating members, our group aims to establish the SCA as a recognized leader worldwide within the field of cardiothoracic transplantation. Cardiothoracic transplantation is a multi-disciplinary effort to provide ultimate treatment for end-stage cardiopulmonary disease. The provenance of cardiothoracic transplantation began with surgeons working alone, but the current state of the art approach integrates diverse perspectives and specialties coordinating together towards a common goal. As the leader within cardiothoracic anesthesia worldwide, it is imperative that the SCA has a seat at the table with other leading organizations in transplantation. Our group, which will consist of members with diverse perspectives and expertise, will be able to not only interact with other societies to assess best practices, but also provide the recommendations to our membership regarding the best quality of care that the data show.

The sub-committee reports to the Clinical Practice Improvement Committee.

The sub-committee meets at least once per year.

The sub-committee is composed of the Chair, Vice Chair, Parent Committee Chair, Board liaison, and members-at-large.

Members may serve a maximum of two consecutive terms unless presidential approval is granted for a third.

2023 – 2024 ROSTER
Archer K. Martin, MD – Chair
Sharon McCartney, MD – Vice Chair
Wanda Popescu, MD – Parent Committee Chair
Jessica Brodt, MD – SCA Board Liaison

  • Suwarna Anand, MD
  • Melissa Bellomy, MD
  • Brandi Bottinger, MD
  • John M. Fox, MD
  • Theresa Gelzinis, MD
  • Mariya Geubue, MD
  • Andrew Greenwald, MD
  • Daniel Kinney, MD
  • Pratik Kothary, MD
  • Katherine Kozarek, MD
  • Marie McHenry, MD
  • Andrea Miltiades, MD
  • Christopher Racine, MD
  • Barbara Wilkey, MD