Meeting Location:

Palm Springs Convention Center

277 N. Avenida Caballeros

Palm Springs, CA 922262



Hotel Information:

Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel

888 Tahquitz Canyon Way

Palm Springs, CA 92262

Hilton Palm Springs Resort

400 E Tahquitz Canyon Way

Palm Springs, CA 92262

Hyatt Palm Springs

285 N Palm Canyon Drive

Palm Springs, CA 92262

Message from the Scientific Program Chair

Dear Colleagues,

The Scientific Program Committee is so excited to gather in person at the SCA 44th Annual Meeting and Workshops in beautiful Palm Springs, California.  After a challenging year in medicine, we look forward to coming together and networking with you.

The SCA Annual Meeting and Workshops will update you on the latest cardiothoracic anesthesia information through fantastic plenary sessions, controversial panel discussions, pro-con debates, hands-on workshops, mentoring sessions, and problem-based learning sessions.

Come and learn from abstract presentations, the always popular Super Echo Panel and legendary Echo Jeopardy, and a special session from the experts on the new Cardiothoracic Anesthesiology Certification exam.

Plan to hear on hot topics such as updates in coagulation, what’s new in mechanical support, and professional development topics such as leadership and mentorship.

While we were glad to ‘see’ so many of you virtually in 2021, we are thrilled to welcome you to Palm Springs in 2022!

See you there!


Sasha K. Shillcutt, MD MS FASE
Chair, Scientific Committee 2022

Mary Beth Brady, MD FASE
Vice Chair, Scientific Program 2022

Jonathan Ho, MD FASE
Workshop and PBLD Coordinator
Scientific Committee 2022

Kathy E. Glas, MD MBA FASE
CME Committee Chair

 Jacques (Prince) Neekankavil, MD
Director, Fellow and Resident Program

 Tara R. Brakke, MD FASE
Coordinator, Fellow and Resident Program

 Alessia Pedoto, MD
TAS Chair (Liaison)

 Megan Chacon, MD
PoCUS Co-Chair (Liaison)

 James (Jake) H. Abernathy, MD MPH
STS Liaison

 Nadia Hensley, MD
QSL Liaison

 Jochen (Danny) Muehlschlegel, MD MMSC FAHA
Research Committee Chair (Liaison)


Shahzad Shaefi, MD
SOCCA Liaison

 Jennifer Hargrave, DO
Online Education Sub-Committee Chair (Liaison)

 Gianluca Paternoster, MD PhD

Sharon McCartney, MD, FASE

Echo Week Liaison 

 Karsten Bartels, MD

 Adam Dalia, MD MBA

 Stephanie Ibekwe, MD

 Candice R. Montzingo, MD FASE

 Adriaan Van Rensburg, MD MCChB MMED FCASA FRCPC

Michele Sumler, MD FASE

 Kelly Ural, MD

 Michael Essandoh, MD FASE

 Rhagavendra Govinda, MD MBBS

 Jiapeng Huang, MD PhD

 Jenny Kwak, MD FASE

 Emily Methangkool, MD FASE

 Mihai V. Podgoreanu, MD FASE