Society of Cardiovascular Anesthesiologists

Kaplan Leadership Development Award

Award Opportunity

The Kaplan Leadership Development Award is sponsored by the SCA Endowment for SCA members. The mission of this award is to assist cardiothoracic and vascular anesthesiologists in their careers by granting funding to further their focus on leadership opportunities and development through course work and leadership specific studies.

This is a $10,000 award: The Kaplan Leadership Award will be adjusted accordingly to offer an aggregate of $5,000 to either one recipient or divided among two.

  • $5,000/$2,500 from the SCA Endowment, with a $5,000/$2,500 match from the applicant’s institution to fund a leadership-focused education strategy.

Applications for the 2025 Kaplan Leadership Development Award will be accepted in the fall. Please check back for details.

YearAwardeeTitle and InstitutionLeadership Development Opportunity
2024Sarah Cotter, MDAssistant Professor, Duke University Medical CenterDeveloping an Evidence-based Perioperative Curriculum for Cardiac Residents
2024Ashley P. Oliver, MD, MAClinical Instructor, The Regent of the University of California, Los AngelesStanford Physicians Leadership Training Certificate
2023Sergey Karamnov, MDAssistant Professor, Brigham and Women’s Hospital, Harvard Medical SchoolBrigham Leadership Program
2022Sheela Pai Cole, MD, FASE, FASAClinical Professor, Stanford UniversityStanford LEAD Program
2022Stephanie Ibekwe, MD, MPH, MSAssistant Professor, Baylor College of MedicineUniversity of Texas at Dallas Executive MBA – Healthcare Organizational Leadership
2021Karsten Bartels, MD, PhDProfessor, University of Nebraska Medical CenterHarvard Leadership Development Course for Physicians in Academic Health Centers
2020Lisa Rong, MDAssistant Professor, Weill Cornell Medicine/NewYork-PresbyterianExecutive Leadership Coaching Program for Research Leaders
2019Ruma Bose, MDAdult Cardiovascular Anesthesia Program Director, Beth Israel Deaconess Medical CenterStructural Heart Disease Curriculum for Cardiothoracic Anesthesia Fellowship
2019Danny Muehlschlegel, MD MMScAssociate Professor of Anesthesia, Brigham and Women’s Hospital, Harvard Medical SchoolMIT Sloan Executive MBA
2018Anne Cherry, MDAssistant Professor, Duke University School of MedicineDevelopment for Leadership of Anesthesiology Fellowship Research Program
2018Michael Grant, MDAssistant Professor, The Johns Hopkins Medical InstitutionsDesign and Implementation of an Enhanced Recovery After Cardiac Surgery (ERACS) Program
2017Rebecca M.Gerlach, MD FRCPCAssistant Professor, Department of Anesthesia and Critical Care; Director, Anesthesia Perioperative Medicine ClinicUniversity of ChicagoChicago, ILDevelopment of Preoperative Anemia Treatment Program for Cardiac Surgery Patients
2016James D.O’Leary, MBBCh MD MMED FCARSCIAssistant Professor, Faculty of MedicineUniversity of TorontoToronto, CanadaAdvanced Health Leadership ProgramRotman School of Management, University of Toronto
2015Andrew L Wilkey, MDNorthwest Anesthesia, P.A.Minneapolis, MNImproving Blood Product Utilization in the Cardiac Operating Theater: Thromboelastometry-Guided, Evidence Based Best Practice Guideline for Coagulation Management in Cardiac Surgery
2014Tjorvi Perry, MDNorthwest AnesthesiaImproving Operational Efficiency and Clinical Utilization in the Cardiac Surgical and Procedure Areas: Mapping Intervals of Care During a Patients’ Care Cycle!
2014Amanda Rhee, MDThe Icahn School of Medicine at Mount SinaiThe Harvard School of Public Health’s Leadership Development for Physicians in Academic Health Centers Course
2014Bryan Maxwell, MD, MPHJohns Hopkins UniversityDevelopment of a Perioperative Consult Service for Adult Congenital Heart Disease at the Johns Hopkins Medical Institutions and Across the Mid‐Atlantic Region
2013Kelly Ural, MDOchsner Clinical FoundationDevelopment of an Echocardiography Elective Rotation for the Ochsner residency program and Cardiothoracic Anesthesiology Fellowship Program Director Track
2012Sasha K. Shillcutt, MD, FASEAssociate Professor, University of Nebraska Medical CenterThe Development of a Multi-Specialty Perioperative Echocardiography Service at the University of Nebraska Medical Center
2012Dalia A. Banks, MDClinical Director for the Department of Anesthesia, Sulpizio Cardiovascular Center UCSDLeadership Coaching Workshop